It’s pumpkin season!

I love fall. LOVE it. Love the colours, the spices in the air and even the sweater weather. It’s all good.

Halloween seems to have inspired me, because I made two amazing recipes with pumpkin today. Although one was totally by accident.

First up: Happy Herbivore’s Maple-Kissed Pumpkin Muffins. Based on the overwhelming success of the last muffin recipe I tried from her, I went straight for the double batch. You should, too. I also shared these with my mom, which is my sneaky way of getting her to like vegan food before I tell her what I’m up to. I think it’s working! She loved them.

Bonus recipe: Lindsay shared her recipe for Pumpkin Pie Spice on her Facebook status: “DIY pumpkin pie spice = 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, dash or two allspice or cloves = 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice.” Multiply by 4 to get enough for a double batch of muffins, and make more to keep some on hand for almond milk pumpkin spice lattes!

While these sweet little babies were in the oven, I contemplated what to do with the rest of the can of pumpkin puree, as I only had a big one on hand. I don’t have a lot of experience cooking with pumpkin; last time I bought it was to help my poor kitty fill her litter box when she was a little… well, “stuck”.

avah hiding

This is what Avah does when my fire alarm goes off, which is every time I make toast. Or when I discover my oven runs too hot.

Pumpkin and Black Bean Burritos

Serves 4 to 6

Pumpkin Black Bean Burritos

Topped with my favourite salsa, avocado, and my own home-grown sunflower sprouts

I was planning to make Black Bean and Butternut Squash Burritos from Oh She Glows, but the batch of butternut squash I made in preparation the the other night didn’t quite work out. In other news, my oven runs a little hot. These two things are related. Anyone know what to do with charred squash?

Anyway,  with all the other ingredients plus some others on hand, I started to experiment and made these instead. But I WILL try the original recipe again some time, from Angela Liddon’s recipe pages.

Ingredients:

1 tbsp coconut oil
1 small onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 red pepper, diced
1/2 cup cauliflower, in small florets
1 tsp salt
2 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 can pure pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling)
2 cups cooked brown rice
One 15-oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
3 tbsp lemon juice
3/4 cup Daiya cheese
Large whole wheat tortilla wraps
Avocado, tomato, mango lime salsa and sunflower sprouts, or your other favourite toppings

Directions:

1. Melt coconut oil in a large skillet or wok over medium heat. Add onions and garlic, and sautee until onions are translucent.

2. Add salt, cumin and cayenne and sautee for one minute.

3. Add lemon juice, red pepper, cauliflower, black beans, pumpkin puree and cooked rice. Sautee for about 10 minutes or until heated through

4. Lower heat, add Daiya cheese and stir to combine.

5. Warm tortilla wraps and add filling to the centre of each. Add your favourite fresh toppings, wrap and serve.


Options:

  • For a crispy burrito, place them under the broiler for a few minutes to brown.
  • Fill tortillas with the cooked filling, wrap tightly in foil and freeze. When it’s time to eat, place them frozen on a tray and bake at 350 F for 20 minutes. Unwrap and add fresh toppings, or pair with your favourite salad.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Breanna Klein
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 02:20:44

    Thanks for sharing all these recipes! They all sound scrumptious, especially the pumpkin and black bean burritos. When I am making myself a burrito, I like the tortilla to be flavorful and crunchy. I usually put the tortilla in a skillet by itself with butter on each side and flip. It gives it great flavor and you can make it as crunchy as you want. As for the squash that you have, I’ve seen some recipes online to make grilled squash quesadillas and butternut squash fries. They looked pretty good, you should check them out! Thanks again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

